UEFA InterToto Cup '98


The structure of the Intertoto Cup changes radically this year - in order to make the competition more attractive to the football associations of the top countries. In the past, some football associations like those of Italy, Spain and Portugal have rejected cup places as they believed the rewards (3 UEFA Cup places) did not match the effort required.

As before, there are 3 places in the UEFA Cup at stake but instead of the league stages used in previous years, there will be 2-leg knockout affairs at each stage - with top nations' representatives being favoured by seeding. The competition starts June 20 and continues until August 25, the finals, like last year, being part of the Qualifying Round for the UEFA Cup. Unlike previous years however, no country has more than 2 representatives in the competition.

Many thanks to Lars Arell for sending me the draw details. Explanations can be found at the bottom of the table. The clubs participating will be filled in gradually as the domestic leagues end. I've put some clubs in already but these may change as in the past, it has been known for clubs to withdraw at the last minute and others to take their place. Comments and suggestions can be mailed to me here.

The draw for the Intertoto Cup (UIC) was made on Friday, April 24th '98
Round (#teams)


Round 1 (40)

June 20,21
June 27,28

1Altay (Turkey2) vs Shamrock Rovers (Rep. of Ireland)
2Ethnikos Achna (Cyprus) vs Örgryte (Sweden2)
3Dnepr Mogilyov (Belarus) vs DVSC-Epona (Hungary1)
4Leiftur (Iceland) vs Vorskla Poltava (Ukraine)
5Ebbw Vale (Wales) vs Kongsvinger (Norway2)
6National Bucuresti (Romania) vs Hapoel Haifa (Israel)
7Austria Wien (Austria2) vs Ruch Chorzow (Poland)
8Baltika (Russia2) vs Spartak Varna (Bulgaria)
9Stabćk (Norway1) vs Vojvodina Novi Sad (Yugoslavia)
10Hrvatski Dragovoljac (Croatia) vs Lyngby (Denmark2)
11Rimavská Sobota (Slovakia) vs Omagh Town (Northern Ireland)
12Hobscheid (Luxembourg) vs Hradec Králové (Czech Republic2)
13Diosgyori (Hungary2) vs Sliema Wanderers (Malta)
14TPS (Finland) vs Sion (Switzerland1)
15VB (Faroe Islands) vs Boby Brno (Czech Republic1)
16St.Gallen (Switzerland2) vs Tulevik Viljandi (Estonia)
17Dinaburga (Latvia) vs OD Trencin (Slovakia)
18Inkaras Kaunas (Lithuania) vs Baki Fahlasi (Azerbaijan)
19Torpedo Kutaisi (Georgia) vs Erebuni-Homenmen Yerevan (Armenia)
20Makedonija Skopje (FYRO Macedonia) vs Olimpija Ljubljana (Slovenia)
Round 2 (32)

July 4,5
July 11,12

AWerder Bremen (Germany2) vs W-18
BW-14 vs Shinnik (Russia1)
CW-15 vs Espanyol (Spain2)
DAB (Denmark1) vs W-4
ESV Salzburg (Austria1) vs W-16
FIraklis (Greece1) vs W-6
GLommel (Belgium2) vs W-19
HW-9 vs Örebro (Sweden1)
IW-20 vs Bastia (France2)
JFC Twente (Netherlands2) vs W-5
KSampdoria (Italy2) vs W-11
LSamsunspor (Turkey1) vs W-10
MW-3 vs W-12
NW-1 vs W-13
OW-2 vs W-7
PW-17 vs W-8

Round 3 (24)

July 18,19
July 25

W-M vs Hansa Rostock (Germany1)
Harelbeke (Belgium1) vs W-K
Auxerre (France1) vs W-C
W-O vs Estrela da Amadora (Portugal)
Valencia (Spain1) vs W-B
Crystal Palace (England) vs W-L
Fortuna Sittard (Netherlands1) vs W-D
Bologna (Italy1) vs W-F
W-I vs W-N
W-G vs W-A
W-J vs W-E
W-H vs W-P

Semi-Finals (12)

July 29
August 5

12 winners from Round 3

Finals (6)

August 11
August 25

6 winners from Semi-Finals

(as part of UEFA Cup Qualifying Round)

Table Notation


Intertoto Background

This competition has been around for many years, primarily as a means of generating money for betting shops over the football-starved summer. In 1995, UEFA raised the competition's profile by allotting 2 places in the UEFA Cup to the 2 clubs who make it through the competition. As such, there is no Intertoto Cup winner and no trophy!

The new image was given a great boost by Bordeaux's progress from the Intertoto that first year to the UEFA Cup final. In the second year of the new look competition, only Karlsruher, of the 3 'winners' (Karlsruher SC, Silkeborg and Guingamp, UEFA having decided to add another UEFA cup place), made it past the UEFA Cup 1st Round, succumbing eventually to Brøndby in the 3rd Round. Last year, of the 3 French winners, Auxerre performed best being beaten by eventual finalists Lazio in the quarter finals while both Bastia and Lyonnais were knocked out the 2nd Round in what was a disappointing year for French teams in Europe in general.

Previous Years' Coverage on European Club Soccer

Intertoto 1997 Intertoto 1996 Intertoto 1995

Mail me at colm@z-axis.com if you have any comments/grouches. Danke schön.


© 1994-1998 Colm Ó Riain