UEFA InterToto Cup '97


Participants Schedule & Results Intertoto Background

Schedules & Results

August 26 '97 - This year's Intertoto Cup, possibly the very last, ended today with French teams taking all 3 UEFA Cup places the competition offered. As a result, France have now got 10 teams taking part in the 3 European competitions - the first time this has been done by any country.

Bastia (France) Olympique Lyonnais (France) Auxerre (France)

July 30 '97 - French teams confirmed their top seeding in the competition today with all 4 teams successfully reaching the Qualifying Round of the UEFA Cup qualifying round (or Intertoto Cup Finals, if you will). MSV Duisburg and Halmstad complete the draw.

Finals (August 13/27)
(UEFA Cup)
SF-winners vs SF-winners
Halmstads (Sweden) Bastia (France)
Montpellier (France) Olympique Lyonnais (France)
MSV Duisburg (Germany) Auxerre (France)

July 20 '97 - Following completion of the group stages, there were no real surprises in the final standings. As in previous years, teams from France,Germany and Russia grabbed the lion's shares of semi-final places - of the 11 participating teams from these countries, only Werder Bremen did not manage to win through. The semi-final draw is completed by Istanbulspor of Turkey and Sweden's Halmstads (who profitted from being grouped with both the weakest 1st and 2nd seed in the competition).

Semi-Finals (July 26/27, 30)
Group Winners vs Group Winners
A 1.FC Köln (Germany) Montpellier (France)
B Auxerre (France) Torpedo Moscow (Russia)
C Bastia (France) Hamburger SV (Germany)
D Dinamo Moscow (Russia) MSV Duisburg (Germany)
E Lokomotiv Nizhny Novgorod (Russia) Halmstads (Sweden)
F Istanbulspor (Turkey) Olympique Lyonnais (France)

Group Stages (June 22 - July 20)
Round Dates Results Standings
1 June 21-22 *** ***
2 June 28-29 *** ***
3 July 5-6 *** ***
4 July 12-13 *** ***
5 July 19-20 *** ***


The following table lists the participants in this year's competition. You may need to widen your browser window to better view the table.

Thanks to Pawel, Martin, Bas and Oxana for providing much of this information. If you see errors, please don't hesitate to mail me. Gracias.

Group 1Group 2Group 3
MSV Duisburg (Germany 1)
Heerenveen (Netherlands 1)
Aalborg (Denmark 1)
Polonia Warszawa (Poland 2)
Dinamo'93 Minsk (Belarus)
Bastia (France 2)
Casino Graz (Austria 1)
Silkeborg (Denmark 2)
Hrvatski Dragovoljac (Croatia)
Ebbw Vale (Wales)
Auxerre (France 1)
Royal Antwerp (Belgium 2)
Lausanne Sports (Switzerland 1)
Nea Salamis (Cyprus)
Ards (N. Ireland)
Group 4Group 5Group 6
1.FC Köln (Germany 2)
Standard Liege (Belgium 3)
FC Aarau (Switzerland 2)
Maccabi Petakh-Tikwa (Israel 1)
Cork City (Ireland)
Dinamo Moscow (Russia 1)
Racing Genk (Belgium 4)
Panahaiki (Greece 1)
Stabaek IF (Norway 1)
B-36 (Faroe Is.)
Hamburger SV (Germany 4)
Samsunspor (Turkey 2)
Odense (Denmark 3)
Leiftur (Iceland)
Kaunas (Lithuania)
Group 7Group 8Group 9
Werder Bremen (Germany 3)
Istanbulspor (Turkey 1)
Osters Vaxjo (Sweden 1)
Vasas (Hungary)
Universitate (Latvia)
Lommel (Belgium 1)
Hajduk Rodic (Yugoslavia 1)
Halmstads (Sweden 2)
Kongsvinger (Norway 2)
TPS (Finland)
Olympique Lyon (France 3)
Austria Wien (Austria 2)
Odra Wodzislaw (Poland 1)
Rapid Bucuresti (Romania 1)
Zilina (Slovakia)
Group 10Group 11Group 12
Montpellier (France 4)
FC Groningen (Netherlands 2)
Cukaricki (Yugoslavia 3)
Gloria Bistrita (Romania 2)
Spartak Varna (Bulgaria)
Lokomotiv Nizhny Novgorod (Russia 2)
Antalyaspor (Turkey 3)
Proleter Zrenjanin (Yugoslavia 2)
Maccabi Haifa (Israel 2)
Publikum Celje (Slovenia)
Torpedo-Luzhniki Moscow (Russia 3)
Ried im Innkreis (Austria 3)
Iraklis Thessaloniki (Greece 2)
Merani 91 Tbilisi (Georgia)
Floriana (Malta)


This competition has been around for many years, primarily as a means of generating money for betting shops over the football-starved summer. In 1995, UEFA raised the competition's profile by allotting 2 places in the UEFA Cup to the 2 clubs who make it through the competition. As such, there is no Intertoto Cup winner and no trophy! The new image was given a great boost by Bordeaux's progress from the Intertoto that first year to the UEFA Cup final. Last year, of the 3 'winners' (Karlsruher SC, Silkeborg and Guingamp), only Karlsruher made it past the UEFA Cup 1st Round, succumbing eventually to Brøndby in the 3rd Round. This year, like last year, 6 places in the preliminary round of the UEFA Cup are at stake.

So how are the places in this competition allotted? As can be seen in my table of participants in this year's competitions, places are allotted according to a country's strengths according to the UEFA co-efficient table. For example, this year, France and Germany are both allotted 4 teams as befits 2 of the strongest nations in the European club scene. Some nations (like Russia) declined one of their berths while other (like Italy) declined to take part at all, citing already over-long seasons. Click here for more details.

Berths Countries
4 France, Germany, Belgium
3 Russia, Turkey, Austria, Yugoslavia, Denmark
2 Netherlands, Greece, Sweden, Switzerland, Poland, Romania, Norway, Israel
1 Hungary, Croatia, Cyprus, Georgia, Iceland, Latvia, Finland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Bulgaria, Wales, N. Ireland, Ireland, Belarus, Malta, Lithuania, Faroe Islands

Within a country, places are usually allotted according to domestic performance - clubs finishing immediately beneath UEFA Cup entrants generally being offered berths in the Intertoto.

Previous Years' Coverage

Mail me at colm@z-axis.com if you have any comments/grouches. Danke schön.


© 1994-1997 Colm Ó Riain